Durham District School Board Officially Welcomes 2010-2014 Board of Trustees

At its Inaugural Meeting, the Durham District School Board officially welcomed the 2010-2014 Board of Trustees. The 2010-2014 Durham District School Board of Trustees includes:

Joe Allin - Brock/Uxbridge Townships Trustee
Michael Barrett - Oshawa Trustee
Chris Braney - Pickering Trustee
Paul Crawford - Pickering Trustee
Donna Edwards - Ajax, Wards 3 & 4 Trustee
Yvonne Forbes - Ajax, Wards 1 & 2 Trustee
Kathleen Hopper - Oshawa Trustee
Larry Jacula - Oshawa Trustee
Carolyn Morton - Scugog Trustee
Christine Winters - Whitby Trustee
Kimberly Zeppieri - Whitby Trustee
(Back row, left to right) - Chris Braney - Pickering Trustee, Larry Jacula - Oshawa Trustee, Donna Edwards - Ajax, Wards 3&4, Kathleen Ann Hopper - Oshawa Trustee, Joe Allin - Brock/Uxbridge Townships Trustee, Michael Barrett - Oshawa Trustee, (Front row, left to right) Kim Zeppieri - Whitby Trustee, Carolyn Morton - Scugog Trustee, Paul Crawford - Pickering Trustee, Christine Winters - Whitby Trustee, Yvonne Forbes - Ajax, Wards 1 & 2.

"On behalf of the Durham District School Board's 70,000 students and 7,000 employees, I welcome the new and returning Trustees to our team where our collective mission is to ensure student success. We look forward to working with the Trustees to continue to provide students with an excellent education and with opportunities for their futures," said Director of Education, Martyn Beckett.

Following the 2010-2011 internal elections which took place at the meeting, Oshawa Trustee, Larry Jacula was acclaimed Chair of the Durham District School Board. Michael Barrett, Oshawa Trustee was acclaimed Vice Chair of the Board and Whitby Trustee, Christine Winters was acclaimed the Vice Chair of Standing Committee. Pickering Trustee, Chris Braney was acclaimed Chair of the Education Finance Committee. A complete list of Board Committees and Trustee Liaisons will be posted on the DDSB website.

School trustees are responsible for the operation of the public school system and represent Durham's seven municipalities. The Board also has three student trustees. Public school trustees are the critical link between communities and school Boards. They ensure public schools meet the diverse needs of students in their communities. Together, trustees are responsible to their communities for the quality of education provided in local schools within an approved financial framework.

The Durham District School Board is responsible for public education in the rural settings of Uxbridge, Brock and Scugog Townships and the urban settings of Ajax, Whitby, Pickering and Oshawa. The Board employs more than 7,000 teaching and educational services staff. With 135 elementary and secondary schools and learning centres, the board accommodates more than 70,000 regular day students and thousands more who take advantage of a wide variety of continuing education and adult credit courses. More information can be found on the Board’s website at www.durham.edu.on.ca.


Andrea Pidwerbecki,
Communications Manager, Durham District School Board
905 666 6313