Durham District School Board Receives Approval for Full Day Kindergarten Sites for
2013 – 2014 and 2014-2015 School Year

News Release

June 1, 2011

The Durham District School Board (DDSB) today received the required approval from the Ministry of Education to proceed with program implementation of the 2013-2014 and 2014-2015 school years Full Day Kindergarten Program (FDK). Selection of the school sites was based upon Ministry of Education criteria including: equitable distribution of resources; space availability at schools; community need, minimal impact on existing childcare and early years programs; and student achievement needs.

The following Durham District School Board Schools will begin to offer Full Day Kindergarten in September 2013.

Athabasca Public School
Grandview Public School
Bellwood Public School
Jack Miner Public School
C.E. Broughton Public School Joseph Gould Public School
Carruthers Creek Public School Lincoln Alexander Public School
Claremont Public School Nottingham Public School
Colonel J.E. Farewell Public School Prince Albert Public School
Coronation Public School Rosebank Public School
Dr. Robert Thornton Public School Sunset Heights Public School
Elizabeth B. Phin Public School Uxbridge Public School
Fallingbrook Public School Vincent Massey School
Frenchman's Bay Public School  

The following Durham District School Board Schools will begin to offer Full Day Kindergarten in September 2014.

Adelaide McLaughlin Public School Meadowcrest Public School
Altona Forest Public School Norman G. Powers Public School
Beau Valley Public School Peirre E Trudeau Public School
Blair Ridge Public School Roland Michener Public School
Brooklin Village Public School Roméo Dallaire Public School
Captain M Vandenbos Public School Sherwood Public School
Dr. Roberta Bondar Public School Sir Samuel Steele Public School
Dr. S.J. Phillips Public School Stephen G Saywell Public School
E.A. Fairman Public School T.R. McEwen Public School
Eagle Ridge Public School Terry Fox Public School
Gandatsetiagon Public School Vimy Ridge Public School
Glen Dhu Public School Walter E Harris Public School
Julie Payette Public School Westcreek Public School
Lakeside Public School William Dunbar Public School
Lester B Pearson Public School Williamsburg Public School
Maple Ridge Public School Winchester Public School

The five-year phase in of Full Day Kindergarten will be completed in September 2014. Please click here to view a complete list of the five-year phase in across the Durham District School Board.

More detailed information regarding the Full Day Early Learning Program and registration in the JK/SK program with the Durham District School Board can be found on the DDSB's website.

To determine your home school, please contact our planning department by email at: Planning_Department@durham.edu.on.ca or by phone at 905 666 6421 or 1-800-339-6913 ext: 6421.

A complete list of DDSB schools by area can be found here.

Parents/guardians with further questions can email: Early_Years@durham.edu.on.ca.

More information about the full day learning program and its implementation can be found in this brochure and on the Ministry of Education’s Website at www.edu.gov.on.ca/eng. For more information about the Durham District School Board’s Parent and Family Literacy Best Start Hubs, please visit the Board’s Website at www.durham.edu.on.ca in the Parent Resources section.

The Durham District School Board is responsible for public education in the rural settings of Uxbridge,Brock and Scugog Townships and the urban settings of Ajax, Whitby, Pickering and Oshawa. The Board employs more than 7,000 teaching and educational services staff. With 135 elementary and secondary schools and learning centres, the Board accommodates more than 70,000 regular day students and thousands more who take advantage of a wide variety of continuing education and adult credit courses. More information about the DDSB can be found on the Board's website at www.durham.edu.on.ca.